My mom, brother and I visited a convalescent hospital today where we dropped by to see a lady named June.

It was a really depressing environment. When I walked in, I passed by rooms and rooms with elderly people sitting in wheelchairs just staring at the TV. Others were roaming around the hallways in walkers with nurses to aid them. We waited for June to come back to her room because she was on her daily walk around the hospital. When she arrived, she was in a wheelchair which she was able to move around in by controlling a switch. She is completely paralyzed from head to toe. She can barely move her right hand, and her fingers are stuck in one solitary position. Just seeing her, helpless in her chair, made me sympathize so much for her. I can’t imagine what it would be like to not be able to move at all.

She was speaking cantonese the entire time, so I couldn’t completely understand her every word. I was able to get a gist of what she was saying, though. And I could tell just by the sound of her voice that she was extremely depressed. She kept saying how none of her friends cared about her and how sad she was and how she couldn’t sleep at night. It must be so inconvenient for her to get around. She told my brother and I to appreciate what we have and to never laugh at people who can’t move, because it really is a tragic thing to experience. We went around and prayed for her, then left.

The visit I had today really opened my eyes and made me realize how blessed I am to be able to walk freely and be able to move without any difficulty. June’s life completely changed because of that one car accident, and now she can’t walk on her own. I really have to count my blessings and thank God that he allowed me to be a healthy girl. I hope June will still have hope despite her limitations and difficulties she’s had to go through. She really made me see things from a different perspective today.

Standard