I saw a shooting star.

The other night, a couple of friends and I set up some chairs outside my house in the middle of the street, right in my cul-de-sac at 11 o’clock at night along with a couple of blankets, sipping hot chocolate and watching the stars. It was a pretty clear night compared to what we usually have in Arcadia. We just stared up at the gorgeous sky and watched as some planes flew overhead and tried looking for the few constellations we knew.

And then I saw it. It was just a split second, but it was there all right. From the corner of my eye, I saw something flashing across the sky and realized it was a shooting star. All but Bethanie saw it, who was pretty disappointed that she couldn’t experience it with us. But I was simply in awe. In Arcadia? I mean, I’ve seen shooting stars in the mountains and in Arizona, but Arcadia? It was a pretty amazing moment.

I loved sitting out there at night. I just felt so at peace. I mean, this past week was hectic, and I’ve been dealing with a lot lately. Feelings of disappointment, stress, neglect, anger, frustration, impatience. Just … getting away from everything, and sitting quietly drinking my hot chocolate made me feel so good. I need to do it more often. Just sit outside and watch.

And today was a good day.
I need more days like this.

It’s going to be okay.
I’m sure of it …

Standard