Today was such a good reminder of God’s grace toward me.

This past week I’ve been struggling with my sins and feeling this sense of unworthiness. Unworthy of God’s love for me, undeserving of what Jesus did for me on the cross by paying for my sins. I encountered something this past week that just completely tore me apart, brought me down, so much that I felt like a worthless piece of trash. I didn’t feel like God loved me. I just felt so broken that I just could not move past the fact that I hurt someone I care about, and, even more, hurt God.

In bible study today, we learned more about justification, which is to be seen righteous by God. Jesus lived a perfect life and died a perfect death, and because of that he paid for the debt we owe God. We all deserve to die, and I am no more perfect than anyone else. I’m such a sinner, yet God loves me no matter what I’ve done, no matter what I’m going to do in the future. He loves me for who I am. I don’t need to feel guilty for my sins or feel like I’m unworthy, because Jesus paid for my sins already. I should feel free from my sins, not be weighed down by it. This doesn’t mean I’m going to stop sinning, it only means that I shouldn’t feel chained down by my mistakes or feel unworthy of God’s love.

God is so good. =)

Standard