I’m graduating in less than a month

And honestly … I’m terrified.

Growing up, you always knew what the next step was. Elementary school, middle school, high school, then college. There was always something to look forward to; all your peers were doing the exact same thing, taking the same classes, trying to get to the same point. But then everyone goes off to college, and suddenly you’re supposed to know what career you want to pursue and what you want to do for the rest of your life. And next thing you know, you’ve split paths, the pool of peers gets narrower, and it looks like your path is on your own terms now.

Fast forward four years, and suddenly you’re graduating. Then what? The options are endless. Your life is up to what you choose to do.

It’s so easy to get caught up in the stress of it all, the pressure from your parents telling you to do something practical, yet something you are passionate about. I watch my peers as they’re getting into their dream graduate schools, getting engaged or married, or hitting it off with their new businesses, and it’s so easy to fall into the trap of feeling envious, desiring their “success.” I look at my own life and wish I had a darn clue what I was doing, but I really don’t. I wonder if anyone ever has a clue what they’re doing at 22 years old.

I pray that whatever happens, I not lose sight of what’s most important in life – glorifying God in whatever it is that I do and remembering that I was bought at a price. My life is not my own. I am forever His.

Standard

Leave a Reply

